10 Reasons Why I Will Keep Teaching Queer Literatures at UH-Mānoa

KE KAUPU HEHI ALE

by Noʻu Revilla

I am a queer Pacific femme poet. As a Ph.D. student and instructor in the English department at the University of Hawaiʻi-Mānoa, I bring these worlds into my classrooms. I bring these worlds and the knowledge, pain, pleasure, and ways of creating that each of these worlds cultivate. So you can imagine my inner catwalk when I saw the beautiful Cocoa Chandelier gracing the cover of January’s issue of Expresssion! Magazine and the headline: “UH MANOA Everything but the Rainbow.” Featuring interviews with Puakea Nogelmeier, Cocoa Chandelier, Camaron Miyamoto, and Susan Hippensteele, the issue boldly advocates for integrating more queer curriculum at UH-Mānoa.

Throughout my undergraduate and graduate work, I have been blessed to work with educators like Susan Hippensteele (Women’s Studies) and Cynthia Franklin (English), who not only acknowledge the works of queer artists and scholars but also create significant space for these voices in their…

View original post 1,316 more words

Leave a Reply

